Mike’s Prattle

Miscellaneous

SyncTXT

Posted by Mike on February 24, 2011

Signed up for this very interesting service. In fact I found out about this site mostly because of my own post on synchronicities which led to a comment by author Trish MacGregor. Searching for books on Amazon turned up her book on synchronicities, which I just finished reading and at the end it brought up this interesting Princeton University based experiment.

What it does is set up a certain set of random data for each user and sends text messages to your cell phone from either preselected message schemes or a set of 64 texts you can set up yourself. I decided to do the latter and set it up last night. Anyway, after a few hours I hadn’t gotten a text and was curious to see if things were “connected” and what a text would look like so I clicked on the Alert Me button which sends one of the messages immediately and got “Relax. It’ll all work out.” I think I’m going to have a lot of fun with this.

2 Responses to “SyncTXT”

  1. tmsgsn said

    Just signed up for this as well. The first ‘Alert me’ text was quite interesting for me as well – less than one minute afterwards the phone rang…

    • Mike said

      I’m still playing with it. I switched to their I Ching set, though, and it just doesn’t synch at all for me, so I think I’ll go back to my hand crafted one.

Leave a Reply

 
