Mike’s Prattle

Miscellaneous

Weekend

Posted by Mike on January 12, 2009

Crazy weekend. Turned in my essay for this book, an illustrated collection of essays on Krautrock from a somewhat cosmic perspective. I did an essay called Amon Duuality, bridging the Beatles, Theosophy and the Amon Duul commune. Should be quite neat, there’s some interesting names writing essays in the book. Waiting on publisher comments and the like…

Got hooked on the FX show Damages, some of the best TV I’ve seen in a while, perhaps better than any show I was staying current with last year. Rose Byrne plays a young lawyer signing up with a firm who’s in the middle of tackling a major case against a powerful senator. Framed from the present where Byrne’s character emerges shellshocked and drenched in blood and is taken into custody, the 13 episodes are masterfully plotted with a host of great actors (Glenn Close, Ted Danson, Zeljko Ivanek, etc). Looks like Season 1 is on line. I’ve learned my lesson from The Shield not to watch anything this intense on a worknight, so I’m happy to hear Season 2, which started last Wednesday, will be going up on line as well. Awesome, addictive TV.

24 just started as well in what I’m calling “The 24 Case for Torture.” For this show, which ranges from epic fun to completely idiotic, sometimes in one episode, I always have to brush logic to the side and “play pretend,” guess who the traitors are and stuff, since it’s generally stupid as hell and could be totally offensive I sat down to think about it. But when Sutherland gets scrunchy face it’s hard not to want to urge him to twist that arm a little harder. Or use that ballpoint pen. Anyway TV is slowly returning, including the last run of Battlestar Galactica this weekend. And the return of Friday Night Lights to NBC for those of us without direct TV. And everyone’s favorite polygamist drama, Big Love Sunday.

And my oldest nephew is now 7. Yike. In the cool developments they didn’t have when I was a kid category (along with 30,000 toys) are bowling gutter fences. These turned my youngest nephew into a near master bowler on Sunday. But I can rest confident that our arcades were a LOT cooler than theirs. All that’s left is driving games and variations on ticket-spewing foozball. On the other hand Atari 2600’s did not have Nerf guns you could shoot at TVs. Alas.

All cool, until I turned up to find my license plate stolen. Some serious Murphy’s law in effect lately…

Leave a Reply

 
