Mike’s Prattle

Miscellaneous

The Emmys got it right this time

Posted by Mike on September 22, 2008

I didn’t watch the ceremonies, I never do, but in reading the award list this morning, I felt like I was dreaming for a second as the results were very close to how I would have chosen. The huge shock, Bryan Cranston’s win for Breaking Bad. Not only did I think he deserved it but he beat ought a lot of incredible talent, including Hugh Laurie in House, Gabriel Byrne and incumbent James Spader. If you haven’t seen the show yet, it’s well worth it. Mad Men’s win is definitely deserved not to mention the 13 Emmys for the fantastic John Adams (which overall was the best TV of the year IMO, The Wire not withstanding). The Daily Show got one as did the writing for Colbert Report. Piven’s supporting actor for Entourage was also well deserved, in fact I was watching him bitch slap competing agent Davies on the show right around the same time for going after his wife. For once I’m not going “what were they thinking?” A nice way to wake up…

Leave a comment