Mike’s Prattle

Miscellaneous

Book Received; Nancy Kress – Probability Sun, Aldiss/Harrison ed. – Nebula Awards 2

Posted by Mike on December 12, 2006

  • Isaac Asimov – The Hugo Winners Vol. 3, Book 1

I guess I can’t really say a whole lot about Probability Sun, being that its the second book in a trilogy and I’m halfway through book three as I write this. I wouldn’t call the trilogy linear exactly in that there are years between the events of each book, but the story and characters do crossover and the events of one book affect the outcome of the later ones. Anyway they’ve all been great fun, Kress knows how to dripfeed the mysterious aspects of the story at a perfect rate. I suspect I’ll be done by the weekend.

The second in the long Nebula Awards series was a typical mix, I’d already read Vance’s “The Last Castle,” a brilliant work, so that took out the largest story. Somehow I don’t remember the initial stories (including McKenna’s Nebula winning short story), but I was particularly impressed with PKD’s “We Can Remember It For You Wholesale,” which was the inspiration for the movie Total Recall, and in fact reminded me a lot of the beginning of the movie, except that Dick’s short was far more interesting and tighter (the movie diverges into a totally different story after the first 20 minutes or so). I also remember liking Dickson’s “Call Him Lord” which reminds me of his Dorsai books with its interest in class differences.

I tried putting away the Kress books over the weekend and read some other things, stuff I’ll report on later. Finished John Morressy’s “A Voice for Princess,” the first of the Kedrigern novels, rather light but amusing fare. In beginning Nebula Awards 3, I realized that I was about to start one of the last Vermilion Sands stories by J. G. Ballard. Having just grabbed his complete short stories, I’ve been starting to go through those chronologically and am liking them a LOT more than I remember liking his two early disaster novels A Wind from Nowhere and The Drowned World. Gloriously colorful and surreal, almost psychedelic and not as dystopian as I’m used to. Also am continuing to really enjoy Jon Courtenary Grimwood’s Pashazade, which will likely be the series I follow more closely when I’m done with Kress. A lot of fun being absorbed in such excellent reading.

Leave a Reply

 
