Mike’s Prattle

Miscellaneous

Books/CDs Received; Nancy Kress – “The Flowers of Aulit Prison;”

Posted by Mike on November 7, 2006

Books: 

  • H. P. Lovecraft – The Dunwich Horror & Other Stories
  • Joe Hill – 20th Century Ghosts
  • Tim Lebbon – The Nature of Balance
  • Tim Lebbon – Changing of Faces
  • Deborah Layne/Jay Lake, Ed. – Polyphony 4
  • The John Varley Reader
  • Robert E. Howard – Kull: Exile of Atlantis
  • Datlow/Windling ed. – Salon Fantastique
  • Peter Watts – Blindsight
  • Brian Keene – The Rising
  • Richard Laymon – The Travelling Vampire Show

CDs:

  • Joe Henderson – Power to the People
  • Ron Carter – Uptown Conversation
  • Cryptopsy – Once Was Not
  • Koenjihyakkei – Angherr Shisspa
  • Behold…The Arctopus – Nano-Nucleonic Cyborg Summoning

The first five books and all the CDs were procured in San Francisco, the former at Borderlands Books, the latter at Amoeba on Haight. Borderlands is as cool as I would have expected, a speculative fiction bookstore with tons of small press hardbacks and the like, it would have been easy to plunk 100s of dollars down but in only 40 minutes I could barely think of what I needed. Amoeba is probably much worse, a supermarket of a record store where it would take probably an entire day to go through all the racks. My money felt like it was trying to hurl itself from my wallet at the counter.

Been busy enough not to really get a lot of reading done lately, although I did manage to finish the Nancy Kress novelette. In reading her Probability trilogy, I realized about 60 pages into the first book that the novelette predates the series, so I stopped in order to catch up. I don’t know for sure, but it seems like the events in the novelette might happen later than the trilogy itself. The premise of both story and trilogy, or at least one of them, is that this alien race all share the same reality viewpoint and that those outside this viewpoint are not considered “real.” Once the planet is visited by aliens (including humans), it seems the population has a hard time considering any of them real. In the novelette, one of these aliens who is not considered “real” due to a crime being committed is sent to a prison that includes all aliens in order to be an informer on a Terran prisoner.

Hoping to get a lot of reading time for this (three-day) weekend. I started a cool collection called “The Sons of Noah & Other Stories” by Jack Cady, the first of the two stories I read was superb (the title story), the second a bit too ambiguous to work for me, but I’m pretty enthused about it nonetheless. Hopefully I’ll have more to talk about after this.

And I should mention my review of the Alice Coltrane show, which I posted at Outer Music (link on right). It felt like more than just a concert, but something of an adventure.

Leave a Reply

 
