Mike’s Prattle

Miscellaneous

Books Received; Lucius Shepard “Sparring Partner;” Neil Gaiman: The Sandman Volume Two: The Doll’s House; Etc.

Posted by Mike on August 31, 2006

  • Steven Erickson – Tours of the Black Clock
  • John Morressy – The Kedrigern Chronicles Volume II: Dudgeon & Dragons
  • Howard Waldrop – Howard Who?
  • Patrick Harpur – Daimonic Reality: A Field Guide to the Otherworld
  • Cynthia Ozik – The Pagan Rabbi & Other Stories
  • James Hilton – Lost Horizon
  • Kazuo Ishiguro – When We Were Orphans
  • Djuna Barnes – Nightwood
  • Clive Barker – The Thief of Always (advance reading copy)
  • Louis De Bernieres – Corelli’s Mandolin
  • Wiliam Faulkner – Absalom, Absalom!
  • Neil Gaiman: The Sandman Volume Two: The Doll’s House
  • Neil Gaiman: The Sandman Volume Three: Dream Country
  • Grant Morrison: The Invisibles: Apocalipstick

Not a hell of a lot going on, I seem to be starting more books than I’m finishing lately. The Shepard story, uncollected, is a story about a female boxer and I think the first entirely mainstream fiction story I’ve read by LS, he’s certainly no less powerful with realism.

In talking about Gaiman’s Sandman series, I almost feel like a classical music fan trying to explain why people should listen to Mozart. Anyway, the second volume is a big step up from the first, and so much of the power of the storytelling, is the “big” encroaching into the “little,” the acts of beings beyond human kin having an affect on a very personal level. Really enjoying the series.

Other than that, there’s too little time during the week to do everything I want to. I’m finding my nephews to be an utterly delight at their age (4 and almost 2 I believe), so I’m trying to make more time to see em, which always means sacrificing something else.

The season finale of Deadwood was one of TV’s greatest disappointments ever, like a … well the only metaphor I can think of is coitus sans climax (ask your girlfriends or wives if you don’t know what this means ;)). I can’t think of a single ep of the show that wasn’t excellent until this one. It only averts catastrophe by the promise of two movies.

Anyway, a four day weekend starts imminently and it’s already nearly full…. Maybe I’ll get in the mood to talk about more rums then.

Oh and I’m looking forward to raving about Richard K. Morgan’s Altered Carbon, it’s one of the best science fiction books I’ve read in a long time, assuming the last 150 pages match up to the first 200 or so.

Leave a Reply

 
