Mike’s Prattle

Miscellaneous

Progress etc.

Posted by Mike on March 29, 2006

Been trying to find the perfect metaphor for the mood lately, kind of like the idea of an electrical applicance being left on too long. Maybe it's my recent perspective, but the creative urge has been like a flamethrower lately, it literally drove me to writing yesterday and I ended up with about 5 pages of handwritten manuscript for the first chapter. I'm going to have to learn more about London architecture for one thing and even plan a trip at some point to be able to get the visceral effect. It has been over 20 years since I was there last.

The first chapter opens in November 1887 with William Wynn Westcott going to receive the cipher manuscripts through his connections with the Societas Rosicruciana in Anglia. The chapter will introduce the mystery that will run through the book; Westcott is going to quickly and accidentally get a glimpse of someone he shouldn't have, a mystery that I'm going to play off as the unknown factor in the newly formed order's internal politics. I'm not sure how large the scope is going to be as I'm not sure how far I want to cover the history, whether I want to  take it to the Horos scandal or if I want to take it even farther. Essential to the progress of the novel is the disintegration of Mathers, that he was both genius and increasingly dominated by ego.

Leave a Reply

 
