Mike’s Prattle

Miscellaneous

Pictures from a Collection (intro)

Posted by Mike on January 31, 2013

When I first started working with the Golden Dawn material, I was reading an essay in the back of the New Falcon “Complete Golden Dawn System of Magic” and came across an interesting fact, that one of the cowriters shared both the last name and city of someone I knew. This is a friend I knew from mutual music interests and both of us have in common another friend who not only told me my friend was the essay writer’s son, but much later let me know that his friend was sitting on a large cache of Golden Dawn documents, many of them historical. The person who owns this collection is not of the tradition, but has been instrumental in helping continue his father’s legacy, mostly in the alchemy field. Anyway our mutual friend has put us into contact and slowly I’ve been receiving photographs of these notebooks, including an initial batch of 8 and 33 new ones I received recently. Some of the content of these notebooks include the original of W. E. H Humphrey’s personal notebook (dated 1901), what looks like a photocopy of a 1982 “loan copy” having to do with the Lotus Wand, a Feb 1924 handwritten copy of “Four States of Ordinary Prayer” and a multitude of other documents. These documents were apparently a gift to my friend’s father from Israel Regardie.  And of course I wouldn’t even have some of this information if it wasn’t for the assistance of Peregrin Wildoak and Nick Farrell whose knowledge in this field I can only continue to learn from.

Anyway the plan is to start putting these pictures up here for discussion and sharing as the owner is obviously sitting on a treasure trove and is looking for information on what he owns, but if anyone is interested, I’m also trickling some of these on Facebook, so you’re welcome to join me (Mike McLatchey) there if you’re interested in seeing these. I’m hoping to share some of these here this weekend as well, time depending.

4 Responses to “Pictures from a Collection (intro)”

  1. Tony Fuller said

    Very interesting indeed. I have copies of much, but not all, of this collection. Interestingly, it was not Regardie who gave the collection- in fact
    Regardie borrowed various documents from it to produce his Falcon edition. The collection was built up by Carr P Collins a wealthy collector
    who acquired many documents from Watkins bookshop in London and who was in contact with Gerald Yorke. It also contains the
    papers of Mrs Tranchell-Hayes (Curtis-Webb).

    • Mike said

      Hi Tony, thanks for the information. The owner of the collection I haven’t heard from in a while, but the last he told me was he had someone in mind to photograph the whole collection. There are more pictures from it that I haven’t posted here, if you’d like access to them I can send the link to the address associated with your comment.

  2. Tony Fuller said

    Dear Mike, my apologies for a dreadfully belated reply – I had missed your reply and the kind offer of access to the photographs. I would be delighted to see these and the email below is still current. Best wishes, Tony

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 132 other followers

